سفارش تبلیغ
صبا ویژن

eon Ji-hee Wins Gold Medal 12 Years After Naturalization

?????] ???-???, 21??? ??? ?? 33??? ????(??2?)

[Asian Games] Jeon Ji-hee Wins Gold Medal 12 Years After Naturalization, “A Second Table Tennis Career Begins in Korea”

 

 

 


"Manage your injury well, Yubin and I hope to challenge for a medal at the Paris Olympics as well.


“Korea gave me a second table tennis life.”


While all Korean table tennis players were grateful to naturalized Chinese player Jeon Ji-hee (30, Mirae Asset Securities), Jeon Ji-hee expressed her gratitude to Korea.


On the 2nd, Jeon Ji-hee paired with Shin Yu-bin (Korean Air) defeated North Korea"s Cha Soo-young and Park Soo-kyung 4-1 in the table tennis women"s doubles final at the 2022 Hangzhou Asian Games to win the gold medal.


This is a precious gold medal that Korean table tennis has won at the Asian Games for the first time in 21 years.


Jeon Ji-hee played in China before coming to Korea in 2008 and naturalized in 2011.


After playing as the "ace" of Korean women"s table tennis for over 10 years, on this day she won the long-awaited gold medal in an international all-around competition for the first time in her life.


At the press conference after the match, Jeon Ji-hee was in tears, saying, "In China, my level was falling and I was not able to get to a higher position, but Korea gave me another chance at table tennis, so I was able to start my second life."


Jeon Ji-hee has been having difficulties since last year as her chronic knee injury worsened.


Despite this, she and Shin Yu-bin collaborated to win a silver medal in women"s doubles at the 2023 Durban World Championships, and this time they also won a gold medal.


Jeon Ji-hee said, "She was not in good shape since last year, and there were various circumstances.


She also had a bad start this year.


“I felt sorry for (Shin) Yubin when I returned from the Thailand competition,” he said.


He continued, “Starting from the World Championships, I challenged myself with the mindset of ‘let’s try again,’ and I finished very well.


“After that, my condition gradually returned,” he said.


“The matchup for this tournament was difficult, but I overcame players from Thailand and North Korea to get to this point.”


“Thank you,” she said.


At the press conference and in the joint coverage area (mixed zone), Jeon Ji-hee often mentioned ‘Yubin.’


To Jeon Ji-hee, Shin Yu-bin is a comrade and ‘noble person’ with whom she appeared in the twilight of her athlete life and won a gold medal together.


Jeon Ji-hee said, “I’m so happy and I’m so thankful to Yubin.”


When asked how she felt when Shin Yu-bin thanked her at the press conference, Jeon Ji-hee said, "It"s hard for her to express it in words."


Jeon Ji-hee and Shin Yu-bin are now competing for the 2024 Paris Olympics.


This time, we had the good fortune of never meeting a Chinese team in the women"s doubles.


Paris is likely to present a much tougher challenge.


Jeon Ji-hee said, "I think Yubin has an advantage (to challenge for the Paris medal) because she is coming up a lot," and added, "I need to improve my ranking and manage injuries.


I want to go to the Olympics one more time with Yubin and win a medal."





totosafeguide.com